Snapping Dreams

52 Breakfasts: #29

leave a comment »

This week’s 52 Breakfasts post: Pancakes with fresh blueberries!

How can my 52 Breakfasts series not have one of these fluffy pancakes (or rather what the Japanese call Hotcakes), right?? They are like the best comfort breakfast food.

Came across these frozen darlings yesterday. Thinking how this was going to save me from all the food preparation, I couldn’t help but put them into my groceries basket. All I had to do was defrost them! Pure frozen food magic. And that was properly taken care of cos I usually take almost an hour from arranging the food to setting up the tripod to shooting and to putting the camera away. By the time I was done shooting, it was just about the right time for me to eat! And to all those frozen food cynics out there (myself included), these pancakes tasted just fine! :p

By the way, just to share a bit of photography details, I adopted the triangle theory I learned from Photofocus earlier this week in this picture. If you haven’t heard of the triangle theory before, here’s an excerpt taken from the original blog:

In food photography, and photography in general, a good fundamental tip on composition is to create or find triangles in your images. Triangles keep the viewer’s eyes on the photo, since when you follow a triangle with your eyes you are basically circling around the image, looking at all the elements.

Lastly, sharing with you a portrait shot of the pancakes. I liked this picture very much too, but somehow I’m prone to choosing the landscape composition everytime when it comes to the 52 Breakfasts series. I personally have nothing against portrait compositions but perhaps landscape goes better with the blog layout, that’s all.

Anyway, hope you enjoyed the pancakes anyway, landscape or portrait. ;)

Written by SE

July 30, 2010 at 2:45 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

