Snapping Dreams

52 Breakfasts: Reflection

with 4 comments

This is one way long overdue post. But I guess sometimes, it’s better late than never! Here goes… ;)

 

post #1: brussel sprouts and mushrooms, anana strawberry shake and fresh strawberries

 

Overwhelmed with work, I just couldn’t find time to really sit down and reflect on my 52 Breakfasts series. I’ve really been wanting to do so but if only I had 48 hours per day. Greedy? yeah. :p

Anyway, I guess most people don’t really care much for the 52 weeks project. But for me, it was my first photography project, and I guess that’s why it meant a little more to me.

 

post #23: vegetable soup

 

Having promised myself that by hook or by crook I have to come up with something once per week, I was really forced to learn. I’ve always hated putting up ugly pictures, so when I had no choice but to put up an ugly picture like this, it pushed me to work harder.

 

post #49: broccoli and beans

 

I’ve learned that it’s really not easy to make good pictures. Unlike portraits, food don’t have facial expressions. They don’t move around and they don’t give you moments to die for. It all comes down to composition. light and food styling.

For example, with a different background or just a simple tweak in the direction of the fork, a picture can go from 0 to 10 on a scale of 10. Some people might claim food to be an easy thing to shoot cos it’s still life but I’m saying it ain’t easy at all,  if you want an impressive picture.

 

post #52: pink radish, mushroom and crackers

 

Looking back, I feel I’ve come a long way in food photography. Of course there’s still a lot more to learn down the road, but through this year long project, not only have I learned a great deal about food styling and how to make use of light, I’ve also come to recognize my own style in food photography.

Now, ending my 1st photography project, I wanna take up a new photography project soon. Am thinking portraits but hmm.. will I be able to do it? I don’t want to make a promise to myself just so that I can break it. It’s either I’m in or I’m out. Gotta do some thinking. Will keep you updated! One thing for sure though, is that given how much of a foodie I am, I’ll definitely keep on shooting food!!

Oh, and happy Thaipusam people! Wish I was back in Malaysia to cover the event!

 

Written by SE

January 19, 2011 at 11:47 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Awesome work on 52 breakfasts! As someone who’ve tried (and failed) to take pictures of food, I for one know it’s not easy.. Can’t wait to see what’s your next project :)

    Jonathan

    February 7, 2011 at 9:25 pm

    • A little late, but thanks! And thanks for the reminder that I must soon start out with my next project. :)

      SE

      July 4, 2011 at 8:25 pm

  2. I loved your 52 breakfasts series :) And what ugly shots? :)

    Post 49 was very nicely done. Simple but nice.

    Nicholas Leong

    February 16, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    • A very late thanks, but thanks! Looks like you are busy flying lately for wedding assignments. Nice!

      SE

      July 4, 2011 at 8:27 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

