Snapping Dreams

Manual focus + still life

with one comment

The last 6 months had been just so crazily busy for me, I never had the chance to go out for a photowalk. Today, I thought I’d shoot something for a friend who was undergoing an operation today and so out I went, bringing my camera.

It was drizzling then, but for me,  it didn’t matter. Of course it would mean less natural lights and the camera getting wet, but I love shooting rainy days for many reasons. One of them is that you get to shoot water drops left on leaves and flowers which brings about a very different feeling for pictures. Here’s one that I shot a few months ago from my archives. And here’s one that I shot today:

 

DSC_0371

Manual focus always come in quite handy in composing still life shots, so I used manual focus in this. Through the viewfinder, I got to determine which part I want blurred out and which part I want to be in focus by adjusting the focus ring. During editing, I pumped up the clarity a bit. As you can see, it helps the water stand out a bit more.

 

DSC_0364-2

(Flowers for my friend. Wishing you a speedy recovery!)

This was also done with manual focus. Another thing with doing manual focus is not only can you choose what is in focus and what is not, but you can also make everything not too much in focus. As for editing, I made the tones warmer her cos pictures with warmer tones always cheer me up. Hope it does the same for my friend!

Written by SE

November 11, 2009 at 2:28 pm

Posted in Tips & Tutorials

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have always loved your photos and I am glad that you now have a place (other than your Flickr) where I can admire them all :)

    Nicholas Leong

    November 13, 2009 at 4:41 am


Leave a Reply

