Snapping Dreams

Adding Texture to Photos

with one comment

It’d be good if I’ve got a picture for Christmas, but I don’t. So, let this be just another normal post.

During my last trip back in Malaysia, I did a mother and daughter photo shoot for a friend’s friend. It was great fun and I’ve been wanting to blog about it for a long time now but never found time. And still haven’t found time for it yet. This blog post, sadly, won’t be a showcase of the pics from the photo shoot. But instead, I’m taking out one pic from the photo shoot to share with you.

As you will see, one of it is the original pic and the other is one where I added texture to it.

Original:

Textured:

I sometimes like to add textures to certain pictures because it creates an altogether different feeling. Like in this case, it adds a classic touch to it. While in other cases, it could give the picture a dreamy feeling (like the picture below which I found in my archives). And of course with your own creativity, you can just about create any mood you like for the picture.

It might seem like I’ve done a lot to the pic but actually adding textures to pictures is honestly, quite easy. There are many tutorials out there on how to do so, so I don’t think I need to give you a step by step here. Instead, you can check out this, this or this on how to add texture to your pictures. Here’s also a video tutorial, just in case.

And, here are some good sources for free textures online: 1. Texture Lovers 2. Deviant Art 3. Design Reviver

Have fun with the textures! Oh, and Merry Christmas! :)

Written by SE

December 24, 2009 at 5:58 pm

Posted in Tips & Tutorials

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Its easy to add texture, but its not easy adding the correct texture. You have done brilliantly for both the shots here :)

    Nicholas Leong

    December 29, 2009 at 2:08 pm


Leave a Reply

