Snapping Dreams

52 breakfasts: #08

with 2 comments

This week’s 52 Breakfasts entry: You Tiao (also known as you char kway or yau ja gwai) + Soymilk

(The reflection on the table are from the leaves of the plant in the left picture.)

I initially had a picnic kinda idea. With a piece of cloth placed on the grass, a clear bowl filled with soymilk on top of it, and a you tiao put across the bowl (taking into consideration that the way to eat it is to dip the you tiao into the soymilk).

But when I was finally ready to shoot, I thought the grass thing would have been repetitive of what I did with the carrot cake last week, so I ditched the grass idea. And then the bowl was too small and the you tiao looked too big on top, so I ditched that idea too.

So in the end, what was left from my initial concept was only the clear bowl filled with soymilk (and a bit of green to add a touch to the whole presentation).

I conceptualized for this entry a day before but somehow , I just ended up doing something else. Is this good or bad?

Written by SE

March 5, 2010 at 6:19 pm

Posted in 52 Breakfasts

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i like the reflection on the glass table :)
    sometimes you just don’t have the right ingredients to get what you envisioned. So you have your choice of just doing what is possible or working hard to get what you want and if you don’t like it only change. that’s my take

    edwardteoh

    March 5, 2010 at 11:31 pm

  2. I think its goes to show how unpredictable photography is, just like any other art form. You can plan all you want, but it takes a great eye (like yours) to realise that things can be changed for better results.

    I’ll take that yue tiao now if you dont mind :)

    Nicholas Leong

    March 8, 2010 at 2:30 pm


Leave a Reply

