Snapping Dreams

52 Breakfasts: #11

leave a comment »

This week’s entry: Char Kway Teow

I initially wanted something more colourful for my last post from Malaysia and thought Indian food would be a good choice. But when I woke up in the morning and walked into my brother’s room and saw a pic of Char Kway Teow, I just couldn’t resist the temptation.

Char Kway Teow can be one of the worst subjects for me to shoot when I have zero time to conceptualize (the schedule during the last week at home is always crazy). As you can see, the colours aren’t a good combination – mainly brown and just a bit of green white and pale yellow here and there. Also, who would give you good food presentation at a hawker stall? To make it worse, it came in an orange plate which really doesn’t help the subject stand out since the colour is so similar.

But of course, I do believe that one can only call oneself a photographer when one can present something good even under the worst conditions. I’m not there yet but I will be.

P.S. Foodies in KL, here’s a food review by a local blogger on the CKT I had. Interesting experience to be having CKT at a mamak restaurant.

Written by SE

March 27, 2010 at 10:09 pm

Leave a Reply

