Snapping Dreams

Thoughts: My 8 Breakfasts in Malaysia

with one comment

Thought I’d do a short review on the 8 posts I did for 52 Breakfasts while I was back in Malaysia. For reference, here are the links: #04: Nasi Lemak, #05: Dim Sum, #06: Roti Canai, #07: Carrot Cake, #08: You Tiao + Soymilk, #09: Roti Bakar + Kopi, #10: Vegetable Pie, #11: Char Kway Teow

Lack of conceptualization

8 posts in total – 4 passed. 4 failed. Looking back, it was very much due to the lack of conceptualization. All four were shot when I was pressed to produce something for 52 Breakfasts. Thus, I gave very little thoughts to presentation when actually, food photography is all about presentation. All I did was just shooting with zero thinking which is a big no-no in food photography.

I’ve said it once during my 8th week in 52 breakfasts, and I say it again now. I must improve on the presentation.

Relying on collages

Out of the 4 that passed, 3 of them were collages. Some might say collages are just fine but I feel it’s a weakness on my part. I feel I might be relying on collages a bit too much to present my photos cos collages help enhance the whole viewing experience.

I want to work on producing photos that can stand alone. Collages should be just a way to present photos and not a way to enhance my photos.

Written by SE

March 28, 2010 at 7:57 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I agree, presentation is very important. I for one, pretty much shoot without thinking as well.

    And I am learning through you, the presentation in food photography is what makes it drool worthy. Having said that, I am drooling right now.

    I think that “you tiao” shot is very nice.

    Nicholas Leong

    March 29, 2010 at 2:01 pm


Leave a Reply

