Snapping Dreams

Photos: Flowers around the neighbourhood

with one comment

What was supposed to be a sakura hunt turned out to be just another flower photowalk of mine around the neighbourhood. I just couldn’t resist all the other flowers that I saw along the way, especially when it’s been ages since I went for one of my flower photowalks.

Lately, I’ve been very focused on portraits (which I’ve yet to post onto the blog) and my 52 Breakfasts project (which frustrates me). So much so that I find difficultly juggling my time. But, taking this photowalk made me realize how important it is to let go once in a while and just shoot whatever we like freely.

It felt really nice to be shooting flowers again. Sharing with you some of my favourites.

Here’s a white flower. I liked the many layers of petals that it had, and so I took a close up pic of it. Too bad I didn’t have my macro lens converter thingy with me, if not it’d have been fun.

Here’s one of them peeking out of the fence. I took a shot from both sides of the flower but liked this better cos of the bokeh-ed leaves in front that gives the photo a bit more colour. The other shot was just a common shot with bokeh-ed fence all the way and this little flower peeking out at the end of it.

Some might say this photo’s a bit overexposed due to the strong sun I was shooting under but I actually like it that way. If it was not this overexposed, the whole picture would have been of a very different feeling. Perhaps much softer. Whereas, I like how strong it feels right now with the strong purple colour.

Found this funny looking thing. My 7th year here but yet I still find things that I’ve never seen before back home. I have a liking for green things + texture so I just had to put this up even though it was just a so-so shot.

Pink flowers. Found these at the cafe under my apartment. They have nice flowers all year round and really pretty ones that never fail to make my day.


I always try a low angle with flowers and most of the time, they have something nice to offer me. Found these really beautiful from underneath. They were in a dark shade of purple underneath but light from the top. It just made a perfect contrast. Not to forget the lines underneath the petals made such pretty details too.

Lastly, pink flowers with tiny tiny petals. These would have been fun to play with too if I had the macro converter thingy but I like them like this too. It feels like they are composed in a way to receive sunlight. :)

*******

P.S. If you happen to know names of any of the flowers up there, please share!

P.P.S. Feel free to share how you would have shot the flowers differently. Different angle? Different lens? Different approach?

Written by SE

April 4, 2010 at 6:50 pm

Posted in Photos

Tagged with , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think you photography flowers beautifully. A macro lens will probably give you a different view, since you can get really up,close and personal.

    Nicholas Leong

    April 5, 2010 at 6:59 pm


Leave a Reply

