Snapping Dreams

52 Breakfasts: #20

with one comment

Two posts in a row! Am I on a roll? Not really. It’s more of I know I won’t be able to take any photos coming Saturday, and definitely too risky to try and do so on a weekday, so I better do it today instead. :p (My 52 Breakfasts project is based on a Sun – Sat week)

Anyway, today we have Nattō!

I’ve had this idea since a few weeks ago but never gotten around to do it. Capturing it alone was way harder than I thought cos one hand was preoccupied with the chopsticks and so I only had one hand left to deal with the camera. Timer, auto focus, manual focus, continuous shooting mode… I tried all of those. But luckily the concept was fixed, and all I had to do was really just overcome one problem after another and work towards the image I had in mind.

When I was at Joe McNally’s workshop in February, I had the opportunity to work with 2 different models. When Joe took a look at my photos, he pointed out how different the quality of my work was when I knew what I wanted (having an image in mind) and when I didn’t know what I wanted.

When I didn’t know what I wanted, the images produced were scattered. They were of different angles, different lighting and nothing good was produced. In contrast, when I had my mind fixed right from the beginning, the images improved one after another plainly cos I overcame the problems in the photos one by one.

While shooting today, I was reminded of what Joe said and couldn’t help but agree with the importance of knowing what you want when creating an image.

Written by SE

May 23, 2010 at 1:48 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s a great picture!

    chouxcreme

    May 23, 2010 at 2:09 pm


Leave a Reply

