Snapping Dreams

Photography & Monkeys

with one comment

If I’m reading another photographer’s blog bearing such a title, I would have automatically looked for some photos of monkeys. But, before you get your expectations high, there will be no photos of monkeys in this post. Not even a photo of a monkey soft toy or a monkey key chain.

It’s just about something I randomly came across the other day while watching Zack Arias’ online weekend workshop. It was the first time I learned about the terms “lightmonkey” and “chimping”.

Did you know that Einstein once referred to photographers as “lightmonkeys”? I personally find that a cute term even though Einstein definitely didn’t mean it to be cute when he said that. In contrast, according to this site, he didn’t really like photographers that much. He thought of photographers as unimaginative!

As for chimping, it actually means the action of photographers checking the display on the camera after shooting a picture. As for how it came about, here’s an excerpt taken from Wiki.

The phrase is most likely derived from comparison between the sounds and actions some make while reviewing images and those of an excited primate (Oooh! Oooh! Aaah!), or when a photographer is completely absorbed in the act of analyzing, admiring or proudly displaying a shot to others.

Anyway, found it amusing when I heard of the terms and just thought I’d have to share it here. :)

P.S. Now I can officially call my monkey photographer brother a lightmonkey!!

Written by SE

June 15, 2010 at 10:51 pm

Posted in Misc

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dang, I am a lightmonkey myself, and a chimper :P

    Nicholas Leong

    June 16, 2010 at 1:47 pm


Leave a Reply

