Snapping Dreams

Learning Photography: Collecting photos

with 3 comments

It’s 2am and I have many other things that many would say I should give priority to, like “rest”. But I just wanted to share with you a little photography project I just started recently. To call it a project might be a bit exaggerating, since it’s not a conceptual shoot nor is it making an album for my portfolio. Anyway, as long as I learn something from it, who cares?

Know how some people cut out recipes from newspapers and paste it all in a little book? I have been “collecting” pictures lately to help me learn and discover my style. To elaborate…

  1. On learning:
    Just in case you are wondering… No, I don’t plan to bring the book with me on shoots and say, “OK, we just copy this picture.” It’s all about thinking why I like the pictures I collect. Is it cos of the pose that brought out the feminine side of the model? Or is it cos of the lighting that gave focus to the object? Or is it the moment captured? And after that comes the big question – how did the photographer achieved that?

  2. On discovering my style:
    Got this idea from one of the articles I read lately. Don’t remember where exactly, so I can’t share the link. Sorry! But mainly, the author was telling her readers how she found her style through keeping a collection of photos that attracted her. Her rationale was that once you have a big collection of photos, going through them all, you will realize that there are common things that attract you. And from there, you’d find your style.

It’s not a super new project, actually, considering I have been “collecting” pictures from the net but it is quite a different experience when you get to cut pictures out of magazines and paste them in your little book. It makes it a fun thing to do. Definitely recommended for those who are in for some fun learning!

Written by SE

August 11, 2010 at 1:43 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds like a very fun photo project. Are you going to post any of it online for others to see?

    Christopher Tvärne

    August 11, 2010 at 5:22 am

    • Now that you suggested it, maybe I will! Thanks for the idea.

      SE

      August 11, 2010 at 9:31 pm

  2. Interesting, maybe I should try doing that as well. :D

    Nicholas Leong

    August 11, 2010 at 10:38 am


Leave a Reply

